The Beaver Regional Waste Management Services Commission was created in 1992 by Regulation 75/92 issued under the Alberta Municipal Government Act, Part 15.1. The municipal members of the Commission are the Town of Tofield, the Town of Viking, the Village of Ryley, the Village of Holden and Beaver County. The Commission’s Board has five Directors, each being a Councillor from each of the municipal members’ Councils.

The Commission recently adopted the trade name of Beaver Municipal Solutions to promote to its current and future customers, both its municipal authority origins, and its solutions-focused approach to managing waste.

The Sanitary Class II Landfill located near Ryley, Alberta accepts municipal solid waste from Edmonton and surrounding municipalities in the capital region, as well as significant volumes of class 2, non-hazardous industrial wastes. The facility is one of the largest in Western Canada, and can provide advanced waste treatment, recycling and remediation technologies to municipal and industrial customers.